The First Yankee I Loved

Jerry & Joan Neal

My heart is quite torn apart with sadness for Mr. Neal, Jay, Charlotte, Jeff, Jennifer and all those sweet grandchildren Mrs. Neal loved so, so much. They’ve each lost a tremendous and irreplaceable presence in their lives. We all have. I pray for healing and peace for the Neal family. God Bless you all.

As I have matured a little in my old age, I’ve grown more and more aware of the very wide and deep pool of positive influences in my life. I am blessed in so many ways and any positive trait I possess is linked directly to my childhood experiences. Growing up in Coulwood, attending Paw Creek Presbyterian Church, and spending time at the end of Queensgate Lane with my buddy Jeff meant I was fortunate enough to be touched directly by Joan Neal.

She was the first Yankee I ever loved. As a youngster growing up where I did in the 70’s, I was “exposed” to a few comments and/or suggestions that Yankees were somehow different than I was…y’all know what I mean. I can distinctly remember a room full of Paw Creek Southerners picking on the only Yankee in the room…Mrs. Neal. Truth be told…Mrs. Neal against a room full of Southerners was actually a “fair fight”…she handled it all just perfectly. She’d simply put on that infectious grin, laugh that infectious laugh, and “look up” at everybody and make it very clear she’d have no problem opening up a big ol’ can of Massa-tu-chats on all of ‘em.

My many blessings include Joan Neal…I am much, much better having known her. It may seem like a small thing to her and others; but it is and was a big deal to me…Mrs. Neal ALWAYS, ALWAYS took time to genuinely find out how I was doing. She’d ask me direct questions, listen to my answers, and offer encouragement. There was almost always laughter involved; usually because she’d recall something…ummmmm…stupid that Jeff and I had done back in the day. As I grew older and my interaction with her diminished, I recall getting excited when I knew I was going to get to see her and “catch up” because I knew, based on previous experiences, she was going to lift me up and make me feel good. I was never disappointed. By simply being around her, I felt better and more confident about life.

She was indeed special and I am deeply saddened by her passing. I sit here and weep knowing I won’t be able to wrap my arms around her family in the coming days…wonder if that’s because I think they need my arms around them or is it I need their arms around me? Either way, this is one of those times I wish I was somewhere else.

God Bless all the Neals and Peace to you all!

21 Responses to The First Yankee I Loved

  1. Ann Cashion says:

    Todd,

    What a great tribute to Joan Neal. You said so much that all of us feel, but just can’t put in words.

    Thanks for your sharing and your ‘presence’ is with all of us who love you.

    Peace, Ann

  2. Richard Baker (Dad) says:

    Todd, well said. Thanks for doing that. Joan was very special to us all.
    Love, Dad

  3. Rob Simmons says:

    Thanks for your rememberances. We all have some, but you expressed yours in a wonderful way that we all respect and appreciate.

    Hang in there and we will see you in a few months.

  4. Mollie Baker (Mom) says:

    Thank you Todd. You said it ‘all’ I will miss Joan so much and feel very sad at this time.
    Love you…Miss you…Mom

  5. Kay Simmons says:

    Reading your beautiful tribute makes me cry, but it is tears of joy at having known that wonderful little yankee. She could hold her own with the best of them and it was fun to see. I don’t know of anyone who ever got the best of her verbally. You are right that being around Joan always made me feel better. Thanks for putting it so eloquently. Love, Kay

  6. Susan Kenley says:

    Todd, you have said what Joan has done for so many of us. She was truly a blessing in all of our lives. She always made the person she was with feel special. She made us laugh. She will have heaven in order waiting on the rest of us. God bless you for you wonderful heart felt words about such a special lady, Joan Neal, will be missed.

  7. Jeff Neal says:

    Thanks buddy. I cried when your Mom came in to see Mom yesterday and prayed such a sweet prayer with her. They got to laugh together. Those two always had fun together.

    It blessed me immensely to see Mom be able to share her last few days with friends like Molly, many of whom she has known for 40+ years. I only hope I can say the same one day.

    Keeping you in our prayers. Keep your head down. Mom was just going last week or two to someone’s house where they were taking stuff to send to you. She absolutely did think of you often.

    Love ya buddy…Semper Fi.
    Jeff

  8. Karen Cathey says:

    Todd … you are so eloquent with your writing. When Grady e-mailed me yesterday to tell me of Joan’s death, I gasped, and when my friend asked me what happened, I told her about Joan. It was easy, and yet hard, to describe her. She simply was a person I admired — classy, down to earth, full of adventure and spunk. Grady and I still have fond memories of the Neals being our youth advisors and opening up their house to us. We are all better people having known Joan. You said it so well.

    I enjoy reading your blog — you should consider writing a book upon your return. Keeping you in prayer.

  9. Cheryl Faust says:

    Todd, You really hit the nail on the head…she was one very lovable Yankee! She wore her Boston roots proudly, but she was greatly admired by all her southern friends and family. She was a blessing to us all and she will be greatly missed.

    We continue to pray for you and enjoy reading your posts!

  10. Pat Wynne says:

    Todd, your tribute made me laugh and cry…marks of a truly well-written tribute! I agree with all the lovely remarks and rememberances of Joan that your mom, dad and others posted. I think the word I most associate with Joan is joy. She always seemed full of joy and zest for life. Won’t she have all the angels just twinkling with delight!

    Stay safe and keep posting. Your writing is wonderful.

  11. Kenny Faust says:

    Todd, what wonderful words, indeed. She was a great inspiration in my life as well and obviously many others feel the same. I will truly miss the way she asked, listened, advised, and encouraged. This is certainly one of the deepest personal losses of my life.

    Thanks for your continued service to our nation and look forward to your safe return.

    God bless.

  12. Melinda Shannon says:

    Todd, You said so well what we are thinking. She was a special lady….the infamous “Bridge Club” will carry on, but not so well with Joan not here. Love to you and your family.

  13. Mary Becknell says:

    Todd, I wish I would have had the privilege to know this lady, but after reading your blog I feel like I do. Your entry will be something that her family and friends will cherish for ever. In the days ahead, it
    will be your written words that will bring comfort.

    You are in my prayers.

  14. Susan Guthrie says:

    Very well said, Todd. It still seems so surreal that she won’t be at church next Sunday. I guess in some ways she will always be with us and we’ll see her again one day. In the meantime, she and Doug can laugh and tell stories while they wait.

  15. Jay Neal says:

    Todd,

    Thanks so much for this. I am not much of a weeper but this brought me to tears and I know it did the same to Charlotte and her sister. Ironic to me that she was telling me that I simply must start following your blog while she was in the hospital…she was a big fan of Todd Baker and she was also a fan of your insightful writing. Now I know why.

  16. Linda Schrum says:

    Todd,

    Your description of Joan was right on!!! My heart is breaking and the tears are also coming – Joan was such an integral part of so many of our lives. Our Book Club will truly miss her insight, wit, and “take on things” which was shared without fail . . . Vance and I have been blessed to have known your Mom and Dad for over 40 years and to have share the wonderful parties at your home on New Year’s Day with the delicious “Boston” Corn Chowder and the opportunity to reconnect with all the friends from the Paw Creek area who dropped in to enjoy the warm hospitality of your family. As we are saddened now, we can rejoice in the certainty that we will see her again. Thank you for sharing what was on your heart . . . Vance joins with me in sending our love and prayers to you and to Jerry, Jay and Charlotte, Jeff and Jennifer, and their beautiful children so dearly loved by Joan.
    Peace and blessings to all.

  17. Marty Baker says:

    Agree and can’t really express what the Neal family means to the Baker family – it’s deep and long. I am so thankful for the life of Mrs. Neal and thankful for this forum, your blog, to help us process it. Thanks Todd. Be at peace. See you soon.

  18. Katie Davidson says:

    What Marty said. Thanks to my big brothers for expressing it so well. Love to all! Katie

  19. Debbie Taylor says:

    Such beautiful words for a special lady. I’m sure she is smiling down on you today. Thanks for taking time to share your heart with us.May God give you peace and keep you safe.
    Love,Debbie Taylor

    Your Coulwood Neighbor,
    Debbie Taylor

  20. Linda & John says:

    Todd,

    We all agree with your assessment of Joan and the Neal family. Great words! For me Joans passing was almost as if a direct family menber had just left. It was so sudden and unexpected. Gary Bryant said during the funeral yesterday that joan would have heaven straight before we get there and that God would be doing some re-arranging! I believe that as well. She was your first Yankee and my best democrate! (I knew better than try to win a arguement with her)

    We look forward to all of your blogs and you did yourself proud withthis one!! As Jeff said keep your head down and we look forward to your next musings!!

    Aunt Linda & Uncle Johnny

  21. Amy McGee says:

    Todd —
    My heart is torn apart as well…I think everyone that knew Mrs Neal feels the same way. I am still in shock and disbeleif that last week even happened. I know she is in heaven looking down on all of us. We are blessed to have grown up on the “Westside” and to have been a part of Paw Creek Presbyterian Church. I treasure all the happy, fun, loving memories with all the special school friends and families we were so blessed to have. I know it is hard not being here, but all the Neal’s know you are here in thoughts and prayers. We think of you often and send well wishes and prayers to you !
    Love,
    Amy

Leave a comment